Do I need prior experience to take the course?
No. We welcome everyone from novice to distinguished experts.
Do I have to own a firearm to take the course?
No. If you don’t have a firearm we have them for use with a small cleaning fee of $10.00.
If I have a firearm and want to bring it to class can I?
Yes. We ask that you leave all ammunition in the car, as there cannot be any live ammo in the class.
How do I transport my firearm without a CPL?
You must keep the firearm and any ammunition stored separately. The firearm should be placed in a locked box and that box secured in the trunk of the vehicle with the ammo stored in the glove box away from the pistol.
Is Michigan an open carry state?
Yes. Prohibition of law makes it legal. There is nothing within Michigan MCL statutes that say you cannot open carry.
Can I loan out my firearm (s)?
Yes. You must make sure that the person your loaning it to is legally able to possess it i.e... not have certain types of convictions. Anyone with felony convictions cannot possess firearms or ammunition.
Can I fly with my firearm?
Yes. You must have the firearm unloaded in a locked box contained within your checked bags. You must declare this to the airline. Visit tsa.gov for a full informational travel video.
How old do I have to be to obtain a Concealed Pistol License (CPL)?
Although we may begin firearms training at a early age you must be 21 years of age to apply for a CPL.
Is the post office a Michigan a pistol free zone?
No. Title 39, Code of Federal Regulations, Section 232.1 states No person on U.S. Postal Service property may carry or store firearms, explosives, or other dangerous or deadly weapons, either openly or concealed, except for official purposes. This also extends to the parking lots.
MCRGO Legal FAQ
Q.: I applied for a new concealed pistol license. The 45 day wait has passed. I haven’t received the card in mail. I'm guessing it's due to COVID. May I use my receipt as my license until the card is mailed?
A.: We are receiving a lot of questions recently related to late issued concealed pistol licenses. The answer to your question is found in MCL 28.425b.
MCL 28.425b subsection (14) says, "If a license or notice of statutory disqualification is not issued under subsection (13) within 45 days after the date the individual has classifiable fingerprints taken under subsection (9), the receipt issued under subsection (9) serves as a concealed pistol license for purposes of this act when carried with a state-issued driver license or personal identification card and is valid until a license or notice of statutory disqualification is issued by the county clerk."
MCL 29.425b subsection (9f) says, ""This receipt was issued for the purpose of applying for a concealed pistol license. As provided in section 5b of 1927 PA 372, MCL 28.425b, if a license or notice of statutory disqualification is not issued within 45 days after the date this receipt was issued, this receipt shall serve as a concealed pistol license for the individual named in the receipt when carried with an official state-issued driver license or personal identification card.
The receipt is valid as a license until a license or notice of statutory disqualification is issued by the county clerk. This receipt does not exempt the individual named in the receipt from complying with all applicable laws for the purchase of firearms."